Thursday, June 17, 2010

4 Troops Music Review

4 Troops Album Review

By: Lauren

C.D. Sent for Review by Sony Music

Official Site:


4 Troops is quite literally three men and one woman who were in the U.S. Army and have now released an album together. The songs are all classics that many know and love, but with a new twist. Most of the songs are quite good, though some more than others. I'm a fan of the original "Courtesy of the Red, White, and Blue" but this version is changed in certain places to fit the group and not sound as rowdy, if you will, as the other version. It's not a bad song with the changes, though it takes a bit to get used too.

Some of these songs took on a whole new or deeper meaning when sung by actual soldiers, such as "I'm Already There." It really does make you a bit emotional to listen and think of all the men and women who are away from their families. My brother is in the army, though he hasn't gone too far yet as he's just about to graduate Officer School but I definitely thought of him a lot while listening to this group.

One of my favorite songs and one that will resonate with most people is "For Freedom" as it talks about what everyday people are willing to do to keep our country free...become soldiers and fight for all of us. It's a wonderful song and I definitely recommend listening to that right away if nothing else.

This would be a great gift for Sunday's Father's Day as it communicates love. However, it would definitely be a wonderful fit for any father's out there that were actually in the Army.

Track List:

1. Bless the Broken Road
2. For Freedom
3. Courtesy of the Red, White, and Blue
4. I'm Already There
5. Dance With My Father
6. Angel
7. Galveston
8. You Raise Me Up
9. You'll Never Walk Alone
10. Medley
11. Here We've Been
12. Raise Your Glasses

Amazon Associates: If you purchase this album from the link above, I will eventually get a small percentage. Thanks for supporting Shooting Stars Mag!


T.V and Book Addict said...

Wow just heard their cover of Bless the Broken Road, they're good! I love how it's actually troops that are singing these songs.

Chas @ LLL in the 808 said...

Wow... this one sounds great!=) Thanks for reviewing!