Saturday, January 21, 2017

If You Love Someone, Online Auctions, and More!

I'll be linking up at a variety of places this week, but some of them are Kristin, Kim, and Jenn.


I've been sick for the past few days, which is never fun and I've mostly been stuck in the house. I have gotten some reading done though, so that's always a plus. I didn't make it to my local Women's March, but I have been sharing posts on Facebook and Twitter and checking out all the fun signs that people made for their marches. I think it's wonderful that so many people came out - all over the world too, not just the U.S. It's a beautiful thing to see. We are all equal. We should all have equal
rights.

I was listening to this song today and I thought it was really appropriate for the marches and just the times we are living in right now. The song is "If You Love Someone" by The Veronicas.



The Leave a Mark Auctions have started again. If you don't know, these are online auctions I host where authors annotate (write notes throughout the book) in one of their books and they are then auctioned off. Price starts at $10 and has to go up in $1 increments. All the money goes to a charity. I normally have a set charity for a few months, and then switch the charity, but right now I'm doing author's choice. Auction right now is an ARC of Our Own Private Universe by Robin Talley and it ends at 9 p.m. EST Friday, January 27th. Check out the post to see where the money will go and please think about bidding, or at least spreading the word! Follow the blog there for future auctions (and fun giveaways).


I wrote about my new endeavor earlier in the week, but if you missed it, I thought I'd do a brief recap. I'm offering research services for bloggers/authors/etc that may need help. I have a BA in English Literature and an MS in Library Science, and I have years of experience researching for myself and other people. I would love to work with you, so please do get in touch. I have a website with further details about how I can help here so give that a look!

I'd love help spreading the word too, so if you have contact with authors who might be interested, please let them know. Otherwise, I'd love any tweet or mention!


I want to do some fun giveaways in 2017, and the first big one I'm planning involves The Hunger Games trilogy. I don't want to post the actual prize, because I want it to be a surprise overall, but I am looking for other bloggers to help out. I have two people already that are interested so that's three (with me). I'd like at least two more bloggers to be able to help. You have to be willing to donate money to help with the prize, but the more bloggers that can help, the lower the price will be! It won't be over $20 a person - though I hope it will be even LESS than that. Anyway, if you are interested in learning more, please email me: lauren51990 AT aol DOT com. I will let you know the other bloggers and the prize so you can make a decision on if you really want to help out! The idea is that entries will give all bloggers more followers, so bloglovin, twitter, instagram - whatever outlets you really want to grow!

19 comments:

Midnight Cowgirl said...

Hope you feel better soon!

bermudaonion said...

I don't know if there was a march here or not but I wish I'd looked into it. I kind of regret not marching today.

Kristin @ Addicted to HEA said...

Looks like you have a lot going on, even being sick and all!! Feel better soon!!! *hug*

Alyssa Susanna said...

I hope you feel better soon! The Womens Marches all around the world were incredibly inspiring. Here in Baltimore alone, it was so amazing to see the crazy LINES to get into Penn Station, to catch a train to D.C.

Have a lovely weekend! =)

Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

Erika Sorocco said...

I hope you feel better soon lovely!

xx

Jasprit said...

It sucks being sick, I was off from work last week for like three days and I couldn't even read either! I'm so proud of the Women's marches all over the world yesterday. I hope you have a great week! :)

Diva Booknerd said...

Aww, I hope you're starting to feel a bit better Laren, I know how you're feeling sweetheart. I've been sick for almost 8 weeks and I'm sick to death of myself. I love the charity auctions but it's a shame more authors won't send internationally. I know it's a bit pricey but it's for charity. Come on authors!

Colour me intrigued! I'll send you an email later today about the big surprise. Ooh, I'm excited to learn what it is!

Joyous Reads said...

I hope you're feeling better, Lauren. Yeah, the march yesterday was unreal. I can't even describe it into words. The amount of support for human rights causes was very uplifting. I hope we'll keep up the momentum.

Have a great week!

Gingi Freeman said...

Love that band, the Veronicas!! - http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

Greg said...

I loved seeing the marches, and worldwide too as well as in the US. It was inspiring and frankly gave me some hope after the horrible inauguration. Hope you feel better and have a good reading week!

RO said...

Hope you're feeling better. Love that you want to use your skills to earn some extra cash. Really a great idea!😀 Hugs...

Christina T said...

Hope you feel better soon! I was impressed that my city had a march but I didn't go because I didn't find out about it till after the fact. We are pretty much in "Trump country" around here so I was surprised that there was anything. That gives me hope too.

Aylee said...

Hope you feel better soon, Lauren :) It's too bad you weren't able to make it out to your local Women's March, but I'm sure your support was felt in spirit on social media. And yes, that's the perfect song for the times!

Grace @ RebelMommyBookBlog said...

Boo to being sick!! We are all currently in stages of sickness in my house and it is the worst!! I love seeing the marches :) Hope you feel better and have a great week!

Farrah @ Fairyburger said...

I hope you feel better soon! It's never fun being sick. :[

I really wish I could've gone to one of the marches--I was working so it was a no go, but my friends kept me updated with pictures! <3

Nicole Hewitt said...

Sorry you're sick! Hope you recover soon! I wish I'd gone to Chicago for the march---I actually had apparently stuck my head in the sand and hadn't realized one was happening here until it was well underway, but I loved reading the accounts of all the marches around the US and the world!

kimbacaffeinate said...

Feel better. I will pass on the research offer to authors I know. Congrats on this endeavour. I love working for myself and in the field. Perfect gig for a book lovers :)

Karen said...

I was wondering about the auctions. I hadn't seen anything in awhile. glad to hear you have one up again!

Karen @For What It's Worth

Ericka @ A Quiet Girl's Musings... said...

Hoping you are feeling better than you were over the weekend!